Peru – Day 7 (5/23/2017)

The wake up call was more like a fire alarm. Scared me awake. Not cool. Got up quick and went down to get some breakfast before heading to the airport.

We landed in Cusco for the Machu Picchu adventure. It started with a Thanking Mother Earth ceremony, done by a local shaman. We made three wishes using three cocoa leaves that would later get burned. The ashes return to the Earth and the smoke goes up to the universe. It was really interesting and I enjoyed it. It was something different that not many people get to experience. During the burning of the package with our three leaves, three dogs came up to where we were outside. The threes have been strong in my life. Once the ceremony was over, we headed back inside for a buffet lunch. I was hungry and had a little bit of everything. Once again, the food did not disappoint. 

From there, we went to a local street market. It was interesting and huge. I was afraid I’d get lost and I found out later that a few people did. I did buy a couple of bracelets made of leather and 950 silver. Silver is abundant in Peru, along with gold. I needed to start finding gifts and souvenirs to bring back so this was the first of many.

After this we headed to the hotel. It’s had some amazing views right there in the Andes.  The rooms are really nice too. It’s different buildings where rooms are attached but all are single entrance. No sharing an elevator or entrance to your room. It was more like an apartment complex, and a complex it was. I got lost trying to find my way back from dinner. I’d like to take a moment and thank my blondness for the moment because my room was around the corner of the dinning room. Yes, I got lost and my room was around the corner. I found my way, by following other people, to the main lobby where I had to start over. What can I say, it wouldn’t have been a true T moment if something like this wouldn’t have happened. But then again, I don’t usually get lost. I’m pretty good with directions and I knew my room was across from the dinning room because I had been looking out the window at the people eating at one point. Don’t ask, even I don’t know.

Tomorrow is going to be a long day. It starts at 6:15 am with our wake up call. Next stop, Machu Picchu and Sacred Valley. I could not wait!!

Leave a Reply

