Peru – Day 1 (5/17/17)

Started the day off bright and early, 4 AM to be exact. The limo service was picking me up at 5 AM so I needed to ready to go. Although, he could’ve picked me up a little later since the airport was completely dead when I got there at about 5:30-5:45. It took me a whopping half hour to go from the car to the gate. Even the guy at security was joking with me to pick a line cause they’re so long. I told him I should’ve gotten  here earlier cause I might miss my flight due to the long lines. lol  At least we both had a sense of humor that early in the morning. Even early mornings can’t stop my sarcastic, wise-ass humor. 

I had no issues with any of the flights. They were pretty easy. Except Panama City is super hot and humid inside the airport. I wasn’t even moving and I had sweat pouring off of me. Little did I know this was just the beginning of what was to come. On the plane to Lima, I think I drank about 4 glasses of water just to re-hydrate. The only real issue I had was on the first leg of the flight, I started getting antsy and uncomfortable at about the 3 and a half hour mark. It was about a 4-5 hour flight to Panama City (not the US Panama City) and I’m not used to flying that long. I guess 3 and a half hours is my limit. haha When I got to Lima, I just followed all the people and the signs to get my passport stamped. Once I found my driver, I was off to the hotel.

All I can say is, I’m so glad I had a driver because the driving in Peru is insane. If I had been driving, I would’ve wrecked like 10 times in a matter of minutes. It’s all squeeze into the tiniest of spaces and don’t hit anyone. Surprisingly, I never saw a single accident. I can’t even begin to describe the traffic except this way; take whatever your worst nightmare of traffic is and multiply that by about 1000 and you have the Peruvian traffic. I would’ve either wrecked a lot or had a lot of people pissed off at me if I was driving. My driver told me that if you don’t drive like a jerk, people will be mad at you but if you cut them off and push your way in, it’s almost like they respect your ballsy moves. So different from here in the US. And I thought the Chicago traffic was terrible. Nothing beats Peru traffic, especially in Lima. Crossing the street is a whole other ball game. It’s like a game of Russian roulette. It’s a suicide mission just to get across the street. And don’t even get me started on what it’s like to try to cross 4 lanes of traffic. You feel like the proverbial chicken crossing the road but by the mid point you are even wondering why you are crossing the street. But, after an hour or so of driving, I got to the hotel safe and sound. Day 2 is another day of travel but the real adventure begins. It will be the first day of the Amazon.

Leave a Reply

