Musical Inspiration

Here are some songs that I have related to in some way or have given me inspiration. These are the lyrics and all credits are provided with each song. 

“Best Is Yet To Come”
Performed by Red
Written by Jason Rauch, Mark Holman, Rob Graves

Afraid it won’t come round again
Afraid to move on
Wishing I could go back when
When everything was easier and meaningful to me
Wanting all we left behind
Like it’s the answer
An hour glass we can’t rewind
Holding back the life that I’ve been at for so long

Can I find my way to you
And after all that we’ve been through
And after all we left in pieces
I still believe our lives have just begun
‘Cause now the past can be outrun
And I know you are the reason
I still believe the best is yet to come

A photograph’s still in my hands
Afraid to let it go
The minutes rain like grains of sand
And time is just a war that’s stealing dreams from within
So come and take them back again

And after all that we’ve been through
And after all we left in pieces
I still believe our lives have just begun
‘Cause now the past can be outrun
And I know you are the reason
I still believe the best is yet to come

I won’t turn around
Let it all slip away
I’m never backing down
‘Cause tomorrow’s a new day
And everything can change

And after all that we’ve been through
And after all we left in pieces
I still believe our lives have just begun
‘Cause now the past can be outrun
And I know you are the reason
I still believe the best is yet to come

I still believe the best is yet to come
The best is yet to come
I still believe the best is yet to come
“Doubt” – This song builds me up when I have a bad day and reminds me that I am amazing and no one can take that away from me.
Performed By: Mary J. Blige
Written By: Romans & Mary J. Blige

You said I’d never be a leader
You said I’d never wear a crown
If I wanted to be someone
I should learn to settle down

(You should know better)
I tell myself
(You’ll never go further)
I warn myself
(You’ll never be better)
Don’t know me that well

I made it to the end
I nearly paid the cost
I lost a lot of friends
I sacrificed a lot
I’d do it all again
‘Cause I made it to the top
But I can’t keep doubting myself anymore

No!
I can’t keep doubting myself

Now you’re looking at a leader
Now you’re staring at a queen
You said I’ll never be someone
But now I’m pulling all the strings

(You should know better)
Won’t let me back down
(You’ll never go further)
Can’t turn me around
(You’ll never be better)
So no-one’s stopping me now

I made it to the end
I nearly paid the cost
I lost a lot of friends
I sacrificed a lot
I’d do it all again
‘Cause I made it to the top
I can’t keep doubting myself anymore

No!
I can’t keep doubting myself

You think you know
But you don’t know the half
You think you beat me down
But I’ll have the last laugh
I’ll keep getting up
‘Cause that’s what I’m gonna do
I’m gonna be the best be
Sorry if it kills you

I made it to the end
I nearly paid the cost
I lost a lot of friends
I sacrificed a lot
I’d do it all again
‘Cause I made it to the top
But I can’t keep doubting myself anymore
No! No!
I can’t keep doubting myself anymore.

“I Won’t Let Go”
Performed By: Rascal Flatts
Written By: ??

It’s like a storm
That cuts a path
It breaks your will
It feels like that

You think you’re lost
But you’re not lost on your own
You’re not alone

I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
If you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
And I won’t let go

It hurts my heart
Top see you cry
I know it’s dark
This part of life
Oh it find us all (find us all)
And we’re too small
To stop the rain
Oh but when it rains

I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
And you can’t cope
I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight
And I won’t let you fall

Don’t be afraid to fall
I’m right here to catch you
I won’t let you down
You’re gonna make it
Yeah I know you can make it

‘Cause I will stand by you
I will help you through
When you’ve done all you can do
And you can’t cope
And I will dry your eyes
I will fight your fight
I will hold you tight
And I won’t let go
Oh I’m gonna hold you
And I won’t let go
Won’t let you go
No I won’t

Another song by Red: – This one is one that I am waiting for someone to play for me because this one isn’t one that I feel is for me anymore but for someone else.
“Pieces”
Written By: Robert Douglas Graves

I’m here again
A thousand miles away from you
A broken mess, just scattered pieces of who I am
I tried so hard
Though I could do this on my own
I’ve lost so much along the way

Then I’ll see your face
I know I’m finally your’s
I find everything I though I lost before
You call my name
I come to you in pieces
So you can make me whole

I’ve come undone
But you make sense of who I am
Like puzzle pieces in your eye

Then I’ll see your face
I know I’m finally your’s
I find everything I thought I lost before
You call my name
I come to you in pieces
So you can make me whole!

I tried so hard! So hard!
I tried so hard!

Then I’ll see your face
I know I’m finally your’s
I find everything I though I lost before
You call my name
I come to you in pieces
So you can make me whole
So you can make me whole

“Stand By You”
Performed By: Rachel Platten
Written By: Matthew B Morris, Jack Antonoff, Joy Williams, & Rachel Platten

Hands, put your empty hands in mine
And scars, show me all the scars you hide
And hey, if your wings are broken
Please take mine so yours can open too
‘Cause I’m gonna stand by you
Oh, tears make kaleidoscopes in your eyes
And hurt, I know you’re hurting, but so am I
And love, if your wings are broken
Borrow mine so yours can open too
‘Cause I’m gonna stand by you

Even if we’re breaking down, we can find a way to break through
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, you’re not alone, ’cause I’m gonna stand by you
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’m gonna stand by you
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, you’re not alone, ’cause I’m gonna stand by you

Yeah, you’re all I never knew I needed
And the heart, sometimes it’s unclear why it’s beating
And love, if your wings are broken
We can brave through those emotions too
‘Cause I’m gonna stand by you
Oh, truth, I guess truth is what you believe in
And faith, I think faith is helping to reason
No, no, no, love, if your wings are broken
Borrow mine so your’s can open too
‘Cause I’m gonna stand by you

Even if we’re breaking down, we can find a way to break through
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, you’re not alone, ’cause I’m gonna stand by you
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’m gonna stand by you
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, you’re not alone, ’cause I’m gonna stand by you

I’ll be your eyes when yours can’t shine
I’ll be your arms, I’ll be your steady satellite
And when you can’t rise, well, I’ll cry with you on hands and knees
‘Cause I
(I’m gonna stand by you)

Even if we’re breaking down, we can find a way to break through
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, you’re not alone, ’cause I’m gonna stand by you
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’m gonna stand by you
Even if we can’t find heaven, I’ll walk through hell with you
Love, you’re not alone, ’cause I’m gonna stand by you
No, I’m gonna stand by you
(Even if we can’t find heaven, heaven heaven)
I’m gonna stand by you

And the last one (these are all alphabetical in case you didn’t notice)

“Where You Belong”
Performed & Written By: Kari Kimmel

If you’re feeling down or weak
You can always count on me
I will always pick you up
Nothing’s ever gonna change
Nothing’s gettin’ in my way
I will always hold you up

Anything
Come what may
Don’t look back, forget yesterday
Forget yesterday

It’s not where you come from
It’s where you belong
Nothin’ I would trade
I wouldn’t have it any other way
You’re surrounded
By love and you’re wanted
So never feel alone
You are home with me
Right where you belong

I know sometimes you’re feeling lost
It’s hard to find your place in it all
But you don’t have to fear
Even when you mess up
You always got my love
I’m always right here
Oh, cause

Anything
Come what may
Don’t look back, forget yesterday
Forget yesterday

It’s not where you come from
It’s where you belong
Nothin’ I would trade
I wouldn’t have it any other way
You’re surrounded
By love and you’re wanted
So never feel alone
You are home with me
Right where you belong

Oooo Oooo (Oooo)
Don’t matter where you’ve been
Oooo Oooo (Oooo)
You’re here for a reason

Oooo Oooo (Oooo)
Nooo

It’s not where you come from
It’s where you belong
Nothin’ I would trade
I wouldn’t have it any other way
You’re surrounded
By love and you’re wanted
So never feel alone
You are home with me
Right where you belong

So, these are just a few of the songs that have made me feel a lot over the past year, at least. There are a ton more I could post but this is a start. I hope these lyrics (songs) get the messages I’ve been wanting to give to others and also give a little insight into who I am at the core of my being. Thanks to all the amazing writers and performers for giving us such great music.

Leave a Reply

